Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Lots of up and the down

    May 4, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Today's walk was from Orisson to Roncesvalles. We were the last ones out of Orisson. And headed up the road and up the mountain to the pass.

    Speaking of the mountain pass we saw both the French and Spanish rescue services doing training runs over the pass with off road vehicles.

    Lots of pilgrims and we were passed by many people coming out of SJPDP. I expected that since I do walk slow! But I get there!

    Poor Katie had to slow down for me on the up hills but I could keep up with her on the down hills. We met a few new people walking including a mother and daughter from Zimbabwe. It was so foggy people actually told us they missed the marker for where the Camino leave the road and it's just a few feet from the road. Check my pictures, you'll see how close it is.

    The up today was long and steady and the down was short and steep. It'll be down hill most of the way for the next two days.

    The Hotel Roncesvalles has a great restaurant and for a price fixed menu you get a whole bottle of wine EACH! We texted our Camino friends and finished the bottles in the bar. Earlier I was trying to teach Declan how to use walking poles because of his bad knees and it did not take, but we had a few laughs after dinner about that.
    Read more