Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Ferrara

    March 6, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Wow. Ferrara (not Bologna as I first wrote for some reason!) is very beautiful.

    Hotel is fine. A bit rough around the edges, but pretty. In contrast to the first Amsterdam hotel, I am very relieved to have found the heating control so I could turn the heating DOWN. It's over 15°C here and I had to have a shower and change out of jeans before I could go back out exploring.

    I went looking for dinner, because I'd not had much in the train. Was quite looking forward some pasta or pizza in actual Italy. But going to have to wait for tomorrow as clearly it was way too early to be wanting dinner. All anyone was serving was Aperol Spritz or coffee or similar. No food!! I wandered round and round and round. And didn't find anywhere that had started serving and I couldn't stay out late because I had such an early start (5.30 alarm, though I actually woke at 5.20). So I grabbed some bits and bobs from a Co-op (no idea if it's related to our Co-ops) and McDonald's, which hasn't moved with the times as much as German McDonald's - no veggie things, so got a salad and chips and a Fanta. Not what I was looking for from Italy, but I know I would have been able to get something nice I'd I was out later instead. Tomorrow I will aim to get a nice lunch.
    Read more