Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Morning Ferrara to Bologna

    March 7, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 7 °C

    Good night's sleep. Shower, breakfast.
    Too early to manage more than a capucinno and a croissant, but they had quite a variety available, so will see if I can manage a bit more tomorrow. I never pay extra for breakfast but some places include it for everyone and other times Booking.com add it on as a bonus, so it's good to make the best use of that if you're keeping to a food budget!

    I went jumperless all day (there were maybe two moments where I might have liked one, but many more when I was still too warm!).

    The bus journey out to the (Bologna Children's) book fair was packed and I overheard one illustrator managing to work in showing the person she was sat next to her portfolio - well done! I wasn't here for that, though did have my portfolio preloaded on my iPad, just in case a fortuitous opportunity like that came up (it didn't).

    Then I wandered round kind round and round, taking pictures of the names of publishers who had lots of books that felt like my kind of thing (not specifically my style, but where they could fit in). This is not really the stuff for My Penguins - I will maybe blog about it separately, actually.
    Read more