Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Bologna

    March 7, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Oh Bologna! Very pretty. Ticked my old buildings and little streets boxes for sure. Love the terracotta colours of all the buildings. Love the little parades everywhere - shelter pedestrians from rain and sun, and often house cafe tables as well.

    I had lunch in Bologna and had decided I would aim for a big lunch and then I won't have to look for dinner again in Ferrara this evening. So I had two courses. Vegetable tortellini in a tomato sauce and vegetable caponata with a baked cheese (I think it was called Torino, but I might be wrong). After picking Italian so often in Berlin, I had really been looking forward to eating properly here. .... I didn't like it! The tortellini was too al dente (or maybe I always make it too soft) and felt like the dried tortellini we used to get in the supermarket when I lived in France. But that course was OK. The caponata, though? Again, might well be how it's supposed to be, but too me the vegetables were just mush. And I would swear that they used chicken stock in it. (Which they might. That wasn't advertised as vegetarian, just vegetables. Whereas the tortellini was advertised as vegetarian.) I couldn't finish it. Both because I was quite full, but also because it tasted like it wasn't vegetarian. Ah well. Next time, pizza - shouldn't go wrong with that surely.

    Got the bus back to the station and then train back to Ferrara and walked back to the hotel (though I could have got a bus almost all the way).

    Zonked.

    Have opened one of the cold beers I put in the fridge last night and I feel there may be an early night for me. Or maybe I will siesta and go out for a late ice cream. The early night feels most likely though.
    Read more