Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    First stage complete

    September 13, 2022 in France ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    Made it to Refuge Orisson, which feels like a minor miracle. OK I trained some for this before I left but evidently not enough for 8 km straight up with a 15 lb pack (most be more with water). So glad I made this reservation back in March, don't think I could have made the whole 25 km to Roncesvalles on the first day. So thankful it is cooler! Only 75° with intermittent refreshing sprinkles. Settled into the bunk room with 8 other people (silently betting on who the snorers are going to be, I have ear plugs!) Looking forward to the communal pilgrim dinner tonight. The idea of having my bag transported ahead has an appeal but I'm going to try to stick it out to Pamplona and hope I toughen up!Read more