Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Stage 4: Zubiri to Pamplona

    September 16, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Just when I thought I was getting the hang of this, when I could feel my body transitioning from "what are you, nuts?? didn't we just do this yesterday??" to "oh, so this is what we're doing every day now? hmm...well ok...but on these terms: keep me hydrated, give me fuel and rest every couple hours". I thought we had a deal. And the pack was beginning to become background sometimes instead of always being foreground. Got to Pamplona today after 13 miles and 8 hours and my whole body hurts. The last I don't know how many miles or kilometers was on pavement so that probably had a lot to do with it. I had worked out a whole philosophical approach to dealing with the physical challenge and discomfort but.... I'm done. With carrying the fully loaded pack every day. Hobbled to a Decathalon sporting goods store a few blocks from my hotel and got a perfectly serviceable daypack for 19€. I have a rest day here tomorrow and one more night, then Sunday will walk to Obanos, a mere 21.5 kilometers, with only the basics in the daypack and have the backpack transported ahead. I am at peace with this decision.Read more