Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Stage 18: Castrojeriz to Fromista

    October 2, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    24.9 km/15.4 miles, 43°-78°, about 8 hours
    Long day today, not much shade, water or places to stop with any services open. The last 3.5 miles were a bit of a struggle as right shin became quite cranky but at least it was along a canal and shaded by trees. It was hard to leave the beautiful hotel in Casteojeriz this morning but onward we must go. Ran into 2 brothers from Australia who I hadn't seen since way back before Pamplona. They had been enjoying a rest day here and we had a pleasant dinner in the restaurant here at Hotel Rural Oasibeth with a woman from Utah I met last night. I love the ever morphing Camino family that develops along the way, the comradery and mutual support.
    There was a long stretch today of review of relationships past and present (they say this middle third stage on the meseta is the mental stage after the physical break-in of the first stage) and intense gratitude for the people and experiences in my life. And every time something got to a seemingly unbearable point there was some kind of relief that appeared- a bit of shade, a cool breeze, a friendly word from a passing Pilgrim, a lovely memory, a period of physical ease when no body part was complaining. I keep finding that I can go farther than I think I can, that I can draw on deep resources when I need to. Intense gratitude!
    Read more