Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Stage 32: Triacastela-Sarria

    October 17, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    18.7 km/11.6 miles, 55°-64°, 0800-1330 or 1:30 pm, so only 5.5 hours. I followed the stream of pilgrims leaving town this morning with headlamps on, into the misty moisty woods, the trees dripping with moisture from the night's rain. I took the shorter route which didn't have many places to stop and went through several cow towns, where cows are the main sight, sound and smell.
    So now I'm in Sarria, the beginning of the end, just over 100 kilometers left, 100 kms being the minimum distance one can walk to get the Compostela, the official certificate of completion. So far, I don't see the rumored hordes who are starting here but maybe it will be different once on the trail tomorrow. I'm staying in the old town, near the church where there will be a pilgrim's mass at 7:00 pm.
    I saw a painted yellow arrow today with the words "just love" written on it. That's what it comes down to. In the face of tragedy, even when your heart is broken...just love. ♥️
    Read more