Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 75

    Day 74: San Roman d Retorta - As Seixas

    October 26, 2016 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Distance: 15.1 (1801.7/66.5)
    Weather: 24C, bright and sunny
    Mood: Fine, bit of a headache though
    Staying at: As Seixas Pilgrims Hostel

    Is it bad that I long so much for my arrival in Santiago? The days have started to be so much alike and I notice that many of my thoughts are connected to arriving in Santiago, being reunited with Marc, the walk we have planned for after (Muxia, then Fisterra) and maybe most of all picking up my real life when I get back to the Netherlands .
    I seem to be one of the few people who is looking forward to the end so much. And it's not that I dislike the walking or hate the hostels and lack of real towels. I have found my peace in the routine, but I crave for the next chapter, the start of my new life... The typical Aries who gets bored with one thing well before it's over....
    In the past few weeks of my zen state of mind I was able to just be in the moment and I even started to detach from the regular checking of my phone (not for contact from the outside world, but just maps, how far to go etc.), but now my mind is insistent to take me out of the moment and dream of everything in and after Santiago. It doesn't help that I've been having a pretty consistent headache for the past few days... The camino had taught me that mind and body are so connected and when the body is not in optimal form the walking becomes mentally more challenging.
    Is it bad that I long for the end...? I don't know. I think it's just how it is and it's not long now 😀
    Read more