Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 76

    Day 75: As Seixas - Ribadiso

    October 27, 2016 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    Distance: 25.5 (1827.2/41.2)
    Weather: 24C, lovely sunny
    Mood: Good!
    Staying at: Ribadiso da Baixo Pilgrims hostel

    And after rain...

    A lovely and relatively easy day despite my fear of the crowds of the camino Frances, which I joined today halfway through my walk. In fact, in Melide I had coffee with a local French teacher and I got to practice my French again and it was quite fun.
    The road definitely got busier, but I just put on my music and I walked fast. I kind of enjoyed overtaking many Pilgrims who seemed surprised by my speed. I loved bumping into an old friend from the camino primitivo, just cause we could share the experience.
    Later in the large hostel I simply minded my own business, had a beer and did some crochet with my newly bought yarn and needle. An older man made a remark about it and we had a little chat. I invited myself to dinner with him (english), his Spanish French speaking brother in law and a Spanish friend of the brother in law. Dinner turned out so much fun, where at times a message had to be translated from English into French into Spanish and back. We laughed and shared experiences. Unsurprisingly they also joined from the primitivo. As if we recognised each other amidst all the Frances-ers...
    An unexpected wonderful day and now I suddenly realise it's only two nights till Santiago... Wow!
    Read more