Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 3 in Malawi

    May 13, 2023 in Malawi ⋅ 🌙 61 °F

    After breakfast and coffee, we went to the local weekly farmers/craft market, much like ones in the States. Roberta knew many friends there, and believe it or not, I knew a couple of them from my previous visits! I saw some great crafts and will be bringing home some souvenirs. They seem to be better quality and creativity than I remembered. There was a lovely outdoor cafe, so we had another cup of coffee, and we enjoyed the market activity and beautiful weather(sunny and 80 every day) before heading back to Roberta's house. I sorted through some sewing supplies that Roberta had stored, so we knew what else we might need. We will be delivering the sewing machines on Monday, setting them up and beginning to teach women how to use them.
    We went to a dinner party in the evening with a group of Roberta's closest friends here. They are all expats, and the hostess is leaving Africa in two weeks after being here for over 60 years. So she was hosting an intimate farewell party and they were all so nice, and so funny! Included me like I was one of them. There will apparently be a much bigger party next weekend.
    I am feeling really good, expected more jet lag. But getting two solid nights of sleep did wonders, and I am not feeling any effects of travel.
    Read more