Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 6

    February 14 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    1459 kms to Wentworth
    Next town Louth

    Made it into Bourke after a long paddle into a headwind. I was planning on having a rest day here but I have reprovisioned and discovered all the towns charms so I will move on.
    Fred Hollows' grave would have been interesting if the cemetery wasn't so far out of town. Although he was born in NZ he said he wanted to be buried under a coolibah tree in Bourke and apparently he was.
    Carrying enough water was problematic on my other two trips. I now get a bucket of river water, stir in half a teaspoon of alum, leave it overnight and the next morning the water is perfectly clear with all the sludge at the bottom. I then syphon off the clear water into my Grayl Geopress filter and it is ready to drink. It has a slight mineral taste to it but otherwise not much different to tap water. Works really well.
    Camping at Bourke weir tonight. Could be a pretty spot but unfortunately strewn with broken glass, litter and carp carcases!
    Mark
    Read more