Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Lawrence Kansas - near Eudora Kansas

    July 17, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Started first leg of our trip at zero-dark-thirty on Sunday morning from Columbus Ohio to a quaint little town that I have always considered as my second Hometown. This is Eudora Kansas. It was here in Eudora where I spent some of the most- cherished years of my childhood. Though the town has grown considerably and it has obviously matured after more than a half of a century ... it still felt like home. We only had time to stop for a photo opportunity of the old family homestead but I ended up chatting with the new owners of that house that I always considered to be a mansion. Our neighbor house actually was and is a mansion now known as the Pilla House. More wonderful memories just gazing upon that house and recalling dear Mrs. Pilla. I then took a quick stop at my dear ole Holy Family Church. Though the church building has been closed for many years to be replaced by two generations of subsequent church buildings ...the memories rushed upon me as I stood at its front door. The stories that I could tell about my fantastic time spent at this parish church and its school but the focus of this trip is a family reunion in Wyoming and stopping along the way to visit a few National Parks and Monuments. I regret not having the time or energy to actually visit old friends and classmates but we had to get to nearby Lawrence Kansas (home of KU - the Jayhawks) to get some much needed rest and nourishment before beginning the next important leg of the trip. Fantastic first day. Good number of miles traveled and good gasoline mileage which helps even though we have had good gasoline prices so far. These prices are much better than they have been in the recent pasy.Let's hope that it stays that way.Read more