Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Come From Away

    October 29, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    BA has a huge artist scene. Obviously with the weekly fairs and the gallery’s but the performing theater is also huge and it’s subsidized by the government.
    There is a theater district with at least 5 performance stages. These are sized ones similar to New York, but not as large as the theaters in Sydney or San Francisco.
    There is a location near the Obelisk that sells tickets to the people. I saw that Come from Away was there so I went to the window and asked about tickets… he said “1,000 pesos for a coupon that I take to the theater and exchange for a ticket”. I confirmed I’d heard right and got my translation right “1,000?” Roughly .85? Yes….
    Ever suspicious I gave him my 1,000, walked two blocks and turned it in at the ticket office along with an additional 3,500 and I had a ticket for the Sunday show that started at 7:30 pm ( a very odd time for theater I thought).
    Now ok, I’ve seen the show and I’m fine with it being in Spanish but surely my 4,500 pesos ticket would be with an obscured view at the top of the theater to the far left, but that’s ok it’s an adventure. Imagine my surprise when I was seated in the third row center of the balcony!!
    Even though I knew the show it was really hard to follow as theater really makes my lack of language apparent, but I had a great time. A quick pizza afterward and I was back home by 11:00 on a Sunday evening. If my Spanish was better the theater barrio would be my home.
    Read more