Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Mercado 10 de Augusto

    November 17, 2023 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 70 °F

    Long walk today. D&J joined me and we walked to San Sebastián Parque about 2 km for lunch. We had Mexican that actually resembled Mexican. Then walked back with a stop at 10 de Augusto Mercado. Two floors of stalls. First floor half meat (beef, pork and chicken), other half vegetables and fruits. Second floor cooked food (like a food court). So many vegetables I’d never seen. About 8 kinds of potatoes, several types of bananas and plantains, tree tomatoes, berries and grains, yuca ( that “D” assures me was not yam after one year she mistaken it for yams and boiled it for thanksgiving), There were also women practicing natural cures that involved beating you with branches and cleansing the aurora (I wasn’t keen on that type of healing plus I don’t feel sick and didn’t want to push my luck). A total of almost 5k of effort.Read more