Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Beer Fest and Clubbing?

    May 12 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 59 °F

    The grass market area got its name as the market location for any animal that eats grass. It was also the location of executions. Its history is reflected in the names of the current pubs and restaurants including the oldest still operating pub in Edinburgh called The Last Drop. It was one of the first areas we visited and is actually on the same steer our house is on so it’s possible to walk (about a mile). We got tickets to a beer event at a pub and today we spent several hours drinking all types of beer. The most common of these craft beers had fruit (mango, citrus) which was slightly sweet and refreshing. I liked it (not loved it) and it wasn’t Marc’s taste at all. But we tried it non-the-less. Also met a couple of new friends on the roof terrace and the conversation was lively.

    Marc hung out at the pub and I walked towards home. I stopped at a couple of clubs on the way. It was nice to be around happy people in their 20’s out on the town. There was an acoustic guitar player singing popular radio songs, and I liked how they sang along, as a mass, to certain songs.

    I completely missed the aurora borealis that was visible in Edinburgh on May 10, (if I had just gone outside it would have been obvious). With high expectation for a second night of lights, I got home by 9, took a nap and was up by 11:30 with my fingers crossed. Alas, it didn’t happen, so I’ve added another country to my list of places where I’ve actively tried to see, but missed the lights. Alaska, Norway, Finland, Lapland, Iceland and now Scotland. One day, one day.
    Read more