Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    National Gallery

    May 14 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 63 °F

    I’m very fond of paintings. Mostly the impressionists so I always hunt around for viewing museums. Today took me to the National Gallery, not the portrait gallery or Modern 2, which I’m saving for another day. Made up of two buildings connected below grade, the 5-story building is old on the outside and beautiful on the inside.

    Sauret, Monet,Poisson, amongst many others. I really enjoyed the art created by Scottish artists with Scottish themes. Men in kilts, dancing girls, wild scenes of the highlands, only in Scotland images.

    I also discovered a new trick. With my headphone in one ear, I could listen presentations on YouTube about the art, while I was looking at it in person. Also, the Audio Description (for visually impaired folks), provided by the museum, was another new (to me) way to look at the paintings.

    And it was free!!
    Read more