Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Ponte di Rialto, Venice

    September 17, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    One of my favourite iconic monuments in Venice is the Rialto Bridge. I fell in love with it on our last trip, when we were lucky enough to be staying in one of the buildings that supports the bridge. I love the hustle and bustle, but also the quiet times before the rest of the tourist arrive. I love the gondoliers with their elaborate gondolas waiting along the canal and I love the buildings and restaurants that line the bank, all with view of this iconic bridge.

    It is the oldest of the four bridges spanning the Grand Canal and has been rebuilt several times since its first construction as a pontoon bridge in the 12th century. The present stone bridge was finally completed in 1591.

    I don't know that I would call it beautiful but there is something about the Rialto Bridge that I just love.
    Read more