Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Ceramiche Corsini, San Gimignano

    September 19, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    We love this town of towers and have very fond memories of a little old Italian man called Bruno Corsini. On our last trip, after a few (too many) wines in the square we stumbled across Bruno’s ceramic shop, Ceramiche Corsini, off the main tourist road. Founded in 1957 the shop is a riot of unique colourful ceramic pieces that we had not seen in the other ceramic shops. It is a feast for the eyes. And Bruno was a charmer who spoke no English but we still had a great experience and walked away with mismatched salt and pepper shakers in the shape of roosters. Why I chose those…. It was the wine 😬 They have become one of my favourite purchases from our trips because of the fond memories attached. Bruno and I had a photo together last time which he asked me to send to him, which I did.

    Upon returning to San Gimignamo today, we were hoping Bruno and his business had survived covid, and to our delight he had. I was treated with a big hug and an Italian kiss on each cheek and we all got a bit emotional seeing him again, still his charming Italian self. As he did not greet any other visitors the same way, we think he remembered us.

    I love his ceramics, as they are a bit more unique that the ceramics sold in all the tourist towns. This time my purchase was made pre-wine and I bought a lovely mug so I can remember Bruno every morning when I have my cup of coffee. Another hug and a few kisses later and we bid farewell to our favourite Italian, smiles on our faces and a tear in our eyes.
    Read more