Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 12

    Tempio di San Biagio, Montepulciano

    15. September 2022 in Italien ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    After surviving the steps for the tower climb, we decided to take the short 15 minute walk to the Tempio Di San Biagio, a 16th century Tuscan Renaissance church just outside the historic city centre. From the top of the tower it didn’t look like it was too far away and would be an easy walk. The exterior of this church is more impressive than the simple interior, especially compared to others we have seen, and to be honest I don’t think it was worth the walk. While the walk DOWN to the church was steep and not too stressful on the knees, the walk/crawl back up felt even steeper, and my knees were no longer communicating with me. They did not enjoy the LONG walk back up to town. As we passed by the cemetery I did wonder if that was where I was going to end up. I was too tired to even walk through the cemetery, and I love exploring those as much as I love checking out churches.

    Once I had finally slowed the heart rate, wiped off the sweat and cleaned myself up a bit, we wandered a bit further (God, Montepulciano is a town of hills) and found a great place for lunch, Il Teatro Cucina Toscana, where I finally got to enjoy my first gnocchi of this trip. Accompanied with a glass or two of delicious Italian wine and followed by a gelato. I think my body may be forgiving me for what I did to it today and at least I feel like I earned my gelato.
    Weiterlesen