Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Disaster averted ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜จ๐Ÿ˜…

    May 24, 2023 in Portugal โ‹… โ˜€๏ธ 24 ยฐC

    Our accommodation was very close to the cathedral as we experienced from 0500 this morning ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿคญ. So we were all up and ready for our walk to the bus station in Santiago with 2 hours to go. We'd booked our bus tickets earlier in the week as Anne had noticed buses were filling rapidly, so we thought it best not to take any chances. Thank goodness we did, as the bus was jam packed!
    Jan and I made a quick trip to the cathedral to light a few candles and visit St James' resting place (silver 'coffin') and, as I reached into my bag to find Sid, I realised he'd done a runner! Nooo... Where was he? Sid has been my camino companion since 2018 when I found him in a shop window. I'd thought I'd call him St James (Camino de Santiago) but someone thought I was calling him Sid James, so Sid it was!๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿคญ๐Ÿคฃ. So the thought of losing him... I searched everywhere I could, recalling when I'd last photographed him (outside the cathedral) but could make no sense of his disappearance ๐Ÿ˜”. We decided he'd reached his spiritual home and was in the care of some other pilgrim in Santiago ๐Ÿ˜†. It was only when we'd arrived at our accommodation in Porto and I'd nipped out for some bread that I remembered putting him in my purse! Cue much rejoicing by me (well, us all, really๐Ÿ˜Š) and a round of Pastels de Nata to celebrate his safe return to the fold ๐Ÿ™„ - any excuse for a Pastel de Nata!
    Anyway, breakfast was on the way to the bus station - there was no way I could endure a 3/4 hour journey without food so I doubled up on my croissants as eating on the bus was banned.
    We arrived, ate a lovely lunch and found our accommodation, an apartment with easy access to a Metro station.
    Funny, so many posts are about eating ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…
    So now we're relaxing in our apartment, we've put a wash on and we're happy๐Ÿ˜Š. The simple things in life are often the best๐Ÿ˜‰.
    Full day in Porto tomorrow with a port tasting tour, of course! ๐Ÿท๐Ÿท๐Ÿท
    Read more