Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Almost a camino day!

    August 10, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Thank goodness for double glazing! It managed to keep out much of the noise from the early morning market, but not the binmen at 0300 😂. I managed over 7 hours sleep according to my fitbit - I don't believe it for one minute, it certainly didn't feel like it 🥱🥱🥱. But I didn't have to leave the hotel until 1100 so woke up slowly, leaving when I felt almost human.
    After an initial 'getting lost' (no surprise there, then!) I recognised the road I should have been taking to the railway station, which was about 5km away. The sun was hiding behind a layer of cloud so it was a very pleasant bimble, much of it seeming to be upwards. I managed, though, to 'get lost' again within sight of the station! How did I manage that?🤔🙄😂
    Having purchased my ticket (thanks to a very nice lady who removed me from the queue and did her magic very quickly at the ticket machine) I saw that my train to Hendaye was leaving immediately from the platform on the far side of the tracks 😱. The driver, though, saw me looking at him and delayed departure until I'd legged it under the pass, bless him, cos the next train was 90 minutes later!
    The journey along the coast was gorgeous and the sun had appeared, so it was lovely to relax with a croissant and a coke for half an hour.
    This is familiar territory because it's the journey Julie and I took last year when we started our Camino del Norte from Irun, so with a short walk over the bridge from Hendaye, I was in Spain. I'd also booked a much nicer hotel (real pillows and no noise - yet...) so after a lunch of tortilla I was able to put my feet up for a bit.
    I was restless though, so took myself out for a longer walk through to Hondarribia, where I'm staying on my return leg. I stopped for a beer, of course, and walked back without seeing much of the town - don't want to spoil my next visit🙄😆. It seems I've walked nearly 20km today!
    After a bit of a rest I went out for supper, but nothing interested me, so it's a beer and a sandwich back at the hotel, then a chocolate mousse (or two🙄) for dessert. And, I think, an early bed - keep your fingers crossed!
    Read more