Satellite
Show on map
  • Reunion with Bob in Tucabia

    January 3, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Five years ago when I first came to Australia I travelled up the East coast with two French girls and we couch surfed the whole way. We met a man called Bob who lives in rural Australia, in a village we would never have heard of otherwise Tucabia. He gave the kindest hospitality and we felt like we had created a family whilst all living in his home. We promised him we would stay in touch and would visit at later dates. In fact we all said we would come back to him with our own new families......yet all theae years on not one of us have found a partner or come anywhere near to settling down, we are all still travelling across the world, taking occasional settlement's to work! However I am now the second of us to come back and visit Bob.

    Bob hasn't changed at all, apart from that he lives in a different house about 500m up the road from before. He has not let me help with a thing and has fed me generously and treated me like a special guest. It has been a relaxing couple of days with him, we have chatted a lot and caught up on each others lives. And today we went to the local, untouched beach. It's a beautiful spot with miles of beach with hardly anyone on it. It was super hot so we sat in the shade by the river, which is just 20m from the sea and has calmer waters so is beautiful for swimming. I didn't see any of this last time as we all wanted to go and visit the more well known tourist coast line. But really this is more beautiful and the journey there was winding through a thick forest with vegetation that I can only describe as Australian. Then as an extra bonus I saw my first sight of kangaroo. This happened the first time I visited Bob as well- after being in Aus 3 weeks his surroundings were the first place I saw them. It is just a beautiful, quiet and very Australian spot of countryside. It has got me very excited about going back to Western Australia next week as I know it is like this but even better.

    Bob has been very pleased to see me and I have enjoyed relaxing in the country. Tomorrow I drive back to Brisbane and await Mum and Das arrival for a final few days of noisy reunions.
    Read more