Satellite
Show on map
  • Jakarta Jazz Festival

    March 2, 2019 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    We are staying in Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia for a few days because it is hosting a huge Jazz Festival. It is a big event that brings in artists from all over the world. The city is big, hot, humid and polluted, so it is a bit of an attack to the senses. But it is worth it, for the music. We are staying in an apartment near to the festival and spending our days relaxing in air conditioning, because it is a Muslim country and the pool at our place does not welcome bikini clad beer drinkers. Then we head into the festival in the evening.
    Last night I danced like I had never danced before, it felt amazing to hear awesome music and be able to enjoy the sounds around me at long last. I think the deprivation of good music for the last month made it 100s time more enjoyable and therefore I danced myself so sweaty with such intense enthusiasm that I ended up having multiple people film me. If I can ever find the footage I am sure it will make me laugh, but the moment was so good I just did not care what a spectacle I was, my eyes were closed and I lost myself entirely to the music. We have another 2 nights to go! I think in three days at this festival I will make up for the month of being idol in Philippines, because this dancing exercise is the best work out I have had in ages!

    The festival is at an exhibition center and has 11 main stages and multiple stalls with smaller acts. There are grand pianos, trombones, drums, trumpets, clarinets, saxophones- I am in my element!

    At the end of the festival we have a day together and then Marla flies home in the evening and I will spend one night in a hostel before taking an 8 hour train to Yogykarta-a city in Eastern Java that is recommended due to its temples and natural surroundings.
    Read more