Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Fairwell to Jakarta and Marla

    7. März 2019 in Indonesien ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    Sunday morning we were woken ridiculously early by a sound that I thought was afterparty of the jazz festival- loud music and many people were outside our accomodation. When I looked outside at 5am I saw the road was closed and a stage and been put up, on which people were dancing in aerobic fashion. The place was jumping with activity and hundreds of scooters lined the street-what they had all arrived on. It turns out that Sunday is a big day in this city and that the locals all take the opportunity to get their exercise in the early hours. That night the streets transformed again and a market arose, with children's rides and all sorts of bizarre stalls amongst the usual clothes and foods. It was quite surreal that our residential area could become something so spectacular within hours.

    Other than having no sleep because of Allah calls and the exercise performance. During the day on Sunday we met up with some of Marla's boyfriends friends- he used to live here so he put us in touch with some people. It was our last night together and the guys were quite hilarious company, so we ended up drinking at our place into the evening and impressing each other with ridiculous dance moves.

    Then we had the next day to enjoy together before Marla flew home on Monday evening and I spent the night in a hostel near to the train station. It was a heartfelt goodbye, having spent every minute together for over a month it feels weird when someone will not be by your side. Even the past couple of nights when we have had our own rooms to sleep in we have found it weird waking up alone......but we are planning the next reunion and my adventure continues alone. I am looking forward to having some time alone to relax, reflect and be healthy.

    That night a huge storm broke out and it sounded so fierce I thought it was a tsunami or an earthquake about to happen. I had to remind myself I was in inland and that it wasn't actually a Tsunami! It basically then rained until I arrived in Yogyakarta, and for several hours after that- about 20 hours! But I've save details of that for another entry!
    Weiterlesen