Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Off to the seaside

    June 12, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Today, Mr. Boofle and I left Hartpury to head for Mersea Island. Last night, we ( Zeals & Graeme)had a beautiful meal at an italian restaurant ( run by a geniune Italian family) on the Gloscester docklands.
    It was sad to leave Hartpury and my good friends, Dave and Bev, and their dog, Coco. Dave and Bev have been my friends since 1983, and since my return to the Colonies, we have met up four times with Dave and Bev coming to NZ and I thrice to England since 1986. I was treated to an exceptional stay at Dave and Bevs, meeting their friends and touring the local area. Gloucestershire is a beautiful part of the Motherland. The history alone left me breathless.
    Now I'm heading on British Rail to Colchester, where I will meet Allan and Shirley, more long-term friends from the 1980s. They will then take me to Mersea Is, a British island connected to the Motherland by a tidial causeway.
    Traveling by rail is a real treat. Britian is fortunate to be well catered by public transport that is convenient and reasonably fast. I'm glad I haven't hired a car as I can sit back and relax.
    Read more