Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Gomshall Gomshall - all aboard!

    June 20, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Sadly, I had to leave Mersea Island and say goodbye to my friends, Alan & Shirley. We will meet again someday somewhere, don't know when..........look after yourselves.
    I had a very smooth trip into Waterloo, and there saw sights I hadn't seen since my days in the 80s. Top hats and tails are still the standard of dress for the races, and aplenty there were in Waterloo along with women's hats of all shapes and sizes. Tally ho ol' chaps!
    I got lunch at Waterloo and chatted briefly to a lady who thought NZ was paradise. Now I'm on board the train to Gomshall via Guilford.
    Arrived at Gomshall to be greeted by Gavin and Glenys. It was super to see them. The cottage is just beautiful, built around 200 yrs ago, and British to the core.
    Tonight, we dined at the new refurbished "Gomshall Mill" and had a great meal and classy French wine.
    Home now to relax for the evening..

    Wednesday in Gomshall and Gavin had me assembling garden furniture and helping out in the garden. We took some time out to lunch at Abinger Hatch pub, where to my delight, I had trout for lunch. We also took the opportunity to visit the local farm shop where I bought some unusual tomatoes and some delightful pickle.
    In the afternoon, Gavin went out to get more garden furniture, and I went for a short stroll in Gomshall. To my amazement , I came across an elderly couple who owned a 1932 3 wheeler Morgan V2. Being me, I got talking to them. They told me they had done 300,000 miles in their three wheeler, having driven it through Russia, Europe, and the UK. What a delight to see an absolute classic. They also owned a 1929 Morgan Racer that they raced at the Goodwood Festival of Speed.
    On my return from my walk, Glenys was looking after a friend's 3-year-old daughter, and we were watching trout in the stream at the back of the cottage. I managed to net a native lobster, which also habitat the stream.
    Read more