Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    OH LORD, WONT YOU BUY ME A MERCEDES BENZ

    June 22, 2023 in England ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Today just had to be another car day, didn't it, and this Colonial boy went to Mercedes-Benz World at Brooklands, Weybridge in Surrey. Being me, I couldn't resist a chance to go out on a race track and find out how good a Mercedes-Benz is.
    Driving a Mercedes-Benz AMG V8 at break-neck speed is phenomenal. I had an instructor with me, and not only did he get me to put the car through its paces, he put me through my paces as well. Learning to control a car at speed is amazing, and then experiencing aqua planing and simulated black ice and controlling it was difficult.
    Mercedes World is also a museum and research centre . I saw a Mercedes-Benz that were one off or out of reach of most NZers.
    After Mercedes World, I took Gavin & Glenys around Weybridge, where I lived in the 1980s for 4 years. Weybridge has changed little, still has a beautiful cricket green and choice shops. After our short tour, we went to Pyrford Lock for lunch at the Badger pub.
    We finished up the day at Dorking looking at antique & curio shops before arriving back in Gomshall for a well-earned G&T on the terrace. Another brilliant hot day in the land of hope & glory.
    Read more