Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Taking the scenic route

    May 2, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    Well I am a few days behind so I will separate this post by days.

    May 1st:

    We woke up early-ish to head down to a town called Raglan where we boarded a boat to get to a private little cove which is connected to the ocean and we did some kayaking to a little farm.

    The kayaking was nice and super scenic.

    At the farm the lady explained the mating cycle of eels as well as a lot of information on bees. She really did try to convince us all to be scientists. She gave us some home made biscuits, honey and jams. She was very opinionated. So much that it made me feel like I was back home again. She also mentioned that she was looking for workers during the coming months and my new friends did what they are good at and threw me under the bus.... Again.... So i may very well after the tour return there and work. We will see.

    We then went to a private house where we stayed at for a couple nights in a small town called Raglan . Well we let the girls have the house and we took the trailer out front. Or kind of got stuck into taking it. Oh well it was still pretty sweet. We ended up having quite a nice party with some pina coladas (is that how you spell it?) and ate some fish and chips. SWEET AS!

    May 2nd:
    We got up relatively late after the drinking of the night before but luckily all we had was surf lessons to do. We went up a hill where they showed us some basics and safety rules before we headed down to the ocean. I later heard our tour guide say that the waves were terrible (because there were none....) but it was okay because we were learning. I got up a few times but also had my fair share of wipe outs (someone from our group didn't surf so they took picturea from the beach and she got one of me. But i cant tell which one it is so ill post one and just hope that it's me, if not ill go through the pictures on the a computer once the trip is over and post it on facebook).

    After the surf lesson in raglan we headed into the town to eat and do some shopping before having some nice time off. The afternoon was full of board games before some yoga on a mountain top as the sun would set. I am not a person that enjoys yoga but I would do it again in that setting with that view. We then had one of our surf instructors come in and he cooked us a supper of lamb chops, chicken, sausage and salads. It was really amazing. To be honest, I have really been enjoying all of my meals.

    I will cut this into two posts even though I am missing days because I have a max of 6 pictures on my posts. More pictures should be coming up on Facebook as well as another post in the next few days.
    Read more