Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    The Maori people are terrifying

    April 30, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    This morning I ended up going for a run at 5 am to calm my nerves about jumping out of a plane later that day. It was amazing running on the beach as the sun rises but it wasn't quite nice enough to keep me completely distracted. I was even too distracted to take a picture. Fuck!

    Oh well, I have loads of other chances to take pictures. We then hopped in a van at about 6:30 to head to the sky diving. We waited and waited for them to give us the okay. Until they finally said the weather was too bad so there won't be a jump today. Oh well, maybe I'll die later then.

    We then went to the place where the Maori (the native people from there) signed a peace treaty with Britain and we learned about their culture. We then watched a Maori peace offering and they chose me to be the British chief. They told me not to laugh, smile or flinch as he came at me with a pointy stick (it was a lot scarier than what I am describing please believe me) and screamed at me then jumped at me before offering me a sign of peace, the weird bamboo thing. I wish I would have had a picture of it but I was kinda busy trying to not die nor shit myself. I will see if I can't talk to the people who I am with and to try and get a picture of me with the tribal leader.

    We then went inside to finish the whole thing when they told me I needed to do a speech. I dove quickly into my Dale Carnegie knowledge and then failed miserably. Oh well, maybe I'll have another chance to redeem myself next time I am attacked by a man in a skirt. The entire cultural experience was amazing and in the end I didn't need to go skydiving to have the shit scared out of me.
    Read more