Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 87

    Durham Meeting Point.

    28 de agosto de 2023, Inglaterra ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Well, I forgot about my trip to Durham. Lorna and I meet here as mid wayish from Pockletown and Edinburgh. Not since before YouKnowWhat.

    What a pleasant surprise it has lost its run down feel. A few shops still empty. Tesco instead of M&S and lots of new restaurants.

    Alas, if you have been on YOU or HappyFeed you will know within half an hour of arriving I got clobbered by a migraine. Boots were lovely and sold me a packet of meds. I'm not sure if they worked or not. Because I felt awful. I managed up the hill and into the cathedral but then it hit good and proper. Sweats, shivers, nausea, bit of head pain. So I spent 45 mins outside with head between my knees. Once the nausea was over I just had the jitters. But a wander and a sit in the Cloister helped.

    I couldn't look at the Gaia installation. Such a pity. Made my head reel. But we got into the Chapter room now it's open to public. (Harry Potter location for the fans) and then walked around looking at my favourite windows and the tapestries.

    After we sauntered down the hill and found a great spot by the river. I barely managed to eat my scone and drink a cup of tea. The menu was great and we plan out Xmas outing there. I was grateful for the new cosy shawl that I had bought in the cute shop up near the cathedral.

    We walked up the river to Prebends Bridge which I hadn't been on since my interview day in 1982. Did not get a place a DUni. Their loss. And I wouldn't have met J... Then back down other side and headed to station.

    So despite it all a nice day. Lots of chat. More behind us than in front. Both trying to 'settle' in the positions we find ourselves. And just being friends of nearly 30 years!!! Noooo. Yes. Blimey.
    Leer más