Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Problems, problems, problems!!

    June 5, 2017 in England ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    I was up early this morning so that I'd have breakfast out of the way and everything shipshape.
    I'm getting exciting and looking forward to being warm again. The last few days have been cold for this time of the year and I've been warped up well when going to bed.
    If I had thought of it, I should have brought a fan heater with me but it had been lovely weather when we left Ireland.

    Nine o clock and no sign of anyone, ten o clock, I'm getting anxious. Phone call made and I discovered that they didn't know anything either.
    Not good!
    They called back and it turned out someone had gone sick and they were now trying to get their 'Engineer' from Portsmouth to me.
    Feck, how long it that going to take, Portsmouth is over 40 English miles away.

    The reason I had berthed at Lymington was because their head office was just up the road, easy for them to get to me , easy for me too I thought at the time.

    Anyway, the engineer arrived at 12.30 and quickly got down to it. "Yes, I was an outlet in the aft cabin, the heads, the saloon and the forecabin".
    "The passage cabin? Na, wouldn't want the crew getting too comfortable"

    I left Eureka in this tender loving care (I hope) as they prefer to be left to it, without owners getting in the way. Totally understandable.

    I later returned and discovered that he was having problems finding a route for the duct to the forecabin.
    This company were the ones who fitted heating to Moody's as they were being built in the yard and knew their way around the boats or so I was told.
    In fairness I have discovered that changes were made to my early model later especially in the area he was having trouble.
    It was all doom and gloom as both of us searched for solutions and by the time he left for the day, I was accepting that I wouldn't have heating in the forecabin even though Richard (the fitter) wasn't prepared to give up . . yet.

    I had to eat ashore and even had only one side of the aft cabin to sleep in as the rest of the boat was out of bounds or dismantled at this stage.
    There was a nice smell of sawdust as I began to fall asleep thinking, how are we going to get into the forecabin?
    Read more