Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Eureka!

    June 6, 2017 in England ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    Rich, see we're friends now! Arrived early to make up for yesterday and was accompanied by Owen his apprentice.
    Yes, I checked the spelling of Owen's name and bored him to death explaining the difference between Eoin and Eoghan in Ireland.
    No, look it up yourself!

    Today I stayed around as Rich had by this stage realised I was half useful and wasn't getting in the way when not required.
    First problem of this morning, not enough space between the toilet bowl and the bulkhead.
    Solution? I offer to move it. Result? A happy engineer and another job for me to do later in replacing it.

    The toilet bowl was temporally relocated and the ducting were sneaking forward to the chainplates . . . . . . . . . and at last we found as way forward into the forecabin. Eureka!

    The lads stayed until 19.30, well after finishing time in commissioning the heating and Owen was returning in the morning to finish off the few bits and pieces that were left to do.
    I might even be able to set sail tomorrow.

    That evening it was again cold but tonight all I had to do was press the switch and feel the lovely warm air blowing around the boat.

    I later found out that Moody built in the heating ducts on their later boats even if heating unit was not being fitted. What a pity they didn't do it to them all.

    I wandered up to Lymington Town Sailing Club to get WiFi to check the forecasts. They we looking good for tomorrow but worsening on Thursday.
    If I could get away early tomorrow, I thought I'd get as far west as Dartmouth if I sailed overnight.
    I was due to meet up with Chris and Eddie in Falmouth.

    I walked back to Eureka in the soft misty rain but at least the wind had eased. Looking good for sailing tomorrow.
    Read more