Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Hot, very hot!

    June 8, 2018 in Northern Ireland ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Some British flagged yachts had come into Ardglass late last evening on their way south but most of them had gone by the time I got up.
    I had a quick shower ashore to freshen up and slipped my lines at 09.45.

    It was flat calm without a ripple on the water and it was very hot even at that hour of the morning. I passed some seals sunning themselves on the rocks near the mouth of the harbour.

    There was plenty of traffic, both yachts and fishing boats to keep a look out for.

    I hoisted the main after imagining there was a bit of a breeze but dropped it later as the 'wind' wasn't strong enough to keep it full.
    A Belgian yacht kept me company until it stopped to anchor off Copeland Island near the mouth of Belfast Lough. He was far from home.

    I turned into the lough and entered Bangor harbour about 40 minutes later, pulling up to the fuel berth where I was hoping to get some fuel and instructions on where to berth.

    As I was waiting for the pump attendant I began tidying the main away when my phone began to ring.
    The caller told me that I needed to do a better job with the sail. It was an 086 number from the south but speaking with a northern accent and whoever it was could see me!
    I looked around but couldn't see a tricolour or who was calling.
    It turned out to be Billy McAllister of 'Irish Masts & Rigging' who had replaced my standing rigging last year. He keeps his boat at Bangor and had seen me come in, recognised Eureka and decided to have a bit of fun.

    Unfortunally the diesel was foaming because of the heat. I have a shallow run into my fuel tank that doesn't tolerate foaming as it just backs up and begins to overflow. I only got 22 litres in before I gave up and instead filled my two jerry cans which later went into the tank no problem.
    I headed off to my allocated berth and was helped by a member of staff in tieing up.

    I walked up the marina to Billy's yacht and met his wife. He gave me some good information on eating in Bangor and for my voyage across to Scotland. I then I headed into town to provision for the next week as there wouldn't be much opportunity on the Scottish islands.

    I had a lovely meal in Billy's recommended eating place washed down with couple of pints followed by a shower after all the pulling and dragging in the heat before going to bed.
    Read more