Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Last Stop.

    July 31, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Jim was hoping to stop at Youghal whereas I was itching to get to East Ferry and home, now that I was so close.
    But I’d need a favourable wind and an early start to do it.

    The start was dictated by the tide and 08.30 was the earliest I could get over the bar but when I woke up I knew the wind wasn’t playing ball so it was going to be Youghal tonight. I didn’t mind too much, I hadn’t been there by sea before.

    Once we left the harbour we had a nice sail for the first half of the voyage but the wind eased and changed direction so we ended up motorsailing into Youghal harbour.

    We were tied up to visitor moorings for the afternoon until the pontoon became free with the angling boats having first call until 17.00.
    ‘Second Chance’ went in first and I had to raft to them as there was a broken down angling boat still tied up.

    We had a nice meal at the ‘Old Imperial Hotel’ before a stroll around and heading back to the pontoon.
    Read more