Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 70

    Home

    August 1, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    The first and the last day.
    Sunday the 1st day of August and our last day rounding Ireland. Tonight I’d be sleeping ashore.

    Having left the harbour we started sailing on broad reach but by the time we got to Power Head we were on a beat . . .again.
    The wind was up and down during the day but I was determined that I was going to sail past Roches Point into Cork harbour.

    I entered the harbour on a beat at 15.25, followed closely be ‘Second Chance’.
    I threw in a tack or two before giving up as the ebbing tide was not helping.
    I dropped the sails as I wanted to get 'Eureka' ready before I reached the marina.
    I motored the last bit to East Ferry as I tidied away the sails and got the fenders out.

    We tied up to the marina at 16.45, job done. Where to next year, Jim??
    Read more