Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Glandore is too popular!

    July 18, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I suppose you can’t have everything?
    Set off at 07.00 just after a lovely dawn.
    It was flat calm at East Ferry but once I was past White Gate there was a bit of a breeze and the engine was off as I passed Roches Point.
    The Bimini was extended and as the morning heated up I was glad of its shade.
    The winds were light until Oyster Haven and I had a good sail to the Old Head, then someone turned off the wind and for the rest of the voyage the sails were up and down as I got a bit of exercise in winching away.
    Only one small dolphin 🐬 kept me company for a few minutes.
    I finally gave up on trying to sail shortly after the Galley and was spotted by ‘the sheriff’ as I approached Glandore.
    Well, they’ve put a harbour master in place but taken away the visitor moorings (that’s some improvement) so I anchored at 19.30 among some other visitors.
    Had my dinner in the cockpit on a lovely warm evening while I wondered about going ashore. The place looks jam packed with tourists, you’d think they’d have some better places to go 😎
    Read more