Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    A quite night in.

    July 19, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Boy was I tired. I slept until the phone woke me at 10.00.
    This covid thing just sucks the energy out of you.
    A quick trip ashore in the dinghy and a lovely cup of coffee while I waited for Maeve to arrive.
    I was mortified when she did as she picked out the wrong boat as being Eureka.
    When I went back aboard in the evening I had to apologise and explain to Eureka that Maeve hadn’t gone to spec savers.
    Anyway back to the morning, Maeve and I had lunch in Roscarbery and headed back to Cononagh to met Maeve’s sister and B.I.L.
    Later B.I.L Tony and I went on a mooring cleaning exercise to Castlehaven where he keeps his boat.
    I didn’t take long to clean his so we visited a friend, Marcus who has his yacht close by.
    Cleaning his mooring was a different kettle of shellfish and required a lot of ‘muscles’ to be evicted.
    Marcus paid up with a can or two of beer before we returned ashore and I was dropped off back at Glandore.
    A good few visiting yachts had arrived in my absence including two from East Ferry. Another few arrived as I was making the dinner and I counted 13 before I headed down below. 4 French, 3 British, 4 East Ferry ie Irish but from the best part and 2 unknown.
    Tomorrow I’m hoping to meet ‘Phoenix’ another East Ferry boat in Castletownsend who plan to overnight there on their way back east.
    So it’ll be a long day, 6 mls? I’ll have to find some places to visit on the way to make good use of the day.
    Covid has hit some of the relations here in West Cork so I’ll remain crew-less and may have to leave my visiting till I’m passing the door on the way back all going well.
    So tonight I’m having a quite night onboard as I just don’t feel like going ashore as the company is just as good here 🤪
    Read more