Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Beautiful anchorage

    July 27, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    I left Trafrask in full wet gear, boots and all.
    There had been rain earlier but later it was only a light shower every now and then.
    Winds were light but engine was off to spare the pocket.
    I had a nice sail goose-winged down Bantry Bay doing about 2.5-3.0 knots.
    This was relaxed sailing ⛵️
    Unfortunately it didn’t last and I had to run the engine for about half an hour.
    The wet gear had been put back in the locker by this stage.
    As I approached Sheeps Head someone paid the bill and the wind was turned on and I had a nice reach for the last few miles to Sheeps Head.
    A small French yacht passed me heading in the opposite direction, so close that that I could have shouted at him but I wouldn’t have understood the reply as I have no French.
    Just before I rounded the head I spotted ‘Holy Grounder’ heading towards me. Too far to shout but I’m sure at that distance I’d have heard Eddie reply anyway.
    I rounding the head at 13.43 and entered Dunmanus Bay for the first time and I had a nice beat up to Kitchen Cove, dropping the sails off the harbour.
    I dropped the hook and it dug in well so I can sleep 💤 tonight.
    It look like a lovely spot. Might stay a second night and explore ashore.
    There’s even a pub overlooking the anchorage and it’s very tempting 😎
    To be continued. . .

    Well it didn’t take long!
    To get ashore I mean, and found a nice small landing pontoon inside the pier which of course led to the pub.
    The attached photo tells the rest 😂

    I had only the one, I swear!!
    It got a bit chilly so I didn’t bother with a second and instead went back to Eureka and had the dinner.
    Found a wine bottle with two glasses left in it and you know what happens when air gets in ?
    Glug glug.
    Right do I stay put tomorrow or keep going?? Decisions, decisions 😳
    Read more