Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Summer for one day

    July 30, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    Better go back a bit to bring you up to date.
    Saturday started off damp and foggy.
    Donal took me on a long walk and acted as a tourist guide as we went along.
    We passed the house Margaret and himself lived it until 1975. I had visited it in 1977 when I visited the present owner.
    It’s a small world!
    I also saw his grandmother’s house and dropped in next door to his brother in law John, a lovely friendly and entertaining man.
    Had a quick look at the church (No, no bolt of lightening from on high) before going from the north road to the south road and back towards South Harbour.
    Later after Donal and Margaret went to join the family, I washed the decks and filled the water tanks.
    That night I joined the O’Driscoll’s for a pint or two in Cotter’s.

    Sunday was a very different day.
    The sun was out and the harbour began to fill with visitors and boats from the mainland.
    Donal reckoned I needed more exercise so off we went, first to the lake and then as that hadn’t defeated me, he took me across fields and off up a hill.
    There were great views from the top and the light breeze kept us cool as we climbed.
    Later that afternoon we all headed to Cotter’s and when I finally got back to Eureka, I was ordered aboard Ri Ogra for dinner as there was three helpings in the pot.
    Mention was made of a cat of nine tails should I consider otherwise.
    So I didn’t put up much of a fight and made a donation of Margaret’s favourite tibble 🍷
    . . . . . .it was a long night dissecting all the problems of the world with much laughter.
    Donal was finally defeated and called a halt to things at midnight.

    Today one sensible woman and two salty dogs left Cape before the wind got up.
    It was raining and Margaret is no fool, she got the ferry, while Donal and I sailed to Baltimore.
    Donal was leaving Ri Ogra on a mooring and heading home, I was heading for the shelter of Sherkin Island to ride out the winds until Wednesday when I’m heading for home but taking Eureka with me.
    Read more