Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    A mistake!

    August 3, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Tuesday:
    Having anchored yesterday under the shelter of Sherkin, I woke up in the early morning to find Eureka had wandered from where I left her.
    The bold girl had dragged her anchor in the strong winds.
    It was too dark to lift and reset the anchor so I spent the rest of the night sitting in the cockpit with everything ready if she continued to drag.
    Her stern was close to a shallow patch which included rocks but luckily she stayed put until dawn when I went back near to where we had originally anchored and left out most of my chain.
    Satisfied that the anchor was dug in well, I went off to bed for a second time.
    The moral of the story is, if you have chain, use it.
    It was too windy to go ashore so I read until it was time to make the dinner and luckily had a decent signal on the tv.
    I set the alarm so that I could check the anchor but woke up before it went off and found Eureka was behaving herself and the winds had eased.
    Wednesday:
    A lovely sunny warm day greeted me when I stuck my head out of the hatch.
    The winds had died down and only for the forecast I’d have set off for home.
    I decided I’d go across to Baltimore, anchor and go ashore.
    Another mistake!
    When I got over, there was still a stiff breeze, still about a F5. I hadn’t realised how much shelter Sherkin was giving.
    The forecast was for the wind to drop from 17.00 on so I decided rather than go back, to anchor and wait for a bit before going ashore.
    ‘Explorer’ the Garda SC yacht was moored close by. I remember as treasurer writing the cheque for it.
    Went exploring and then met a friend for a sandwich and a pint 🍺 Yes! just the one ☝️
    Later another walk was followed by dinner ashore and I got a bit wet returning to Eureka.
    I’m now sitting in the cockpit having a cuppa, listening to Johnny Creedon on the radio and looking forward to a nice sail to Glandore tomorrow. Last stop before home.
    The sun is going down and all is mellow yellow 😎
    Read more