Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    A perfect day

    August 4, 2022 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Had to set the clock to make sure I’d be up in time to tidy Eureka before the visitor arrived.
    The sun was shining, the wind was blowing from the right direction and I was going to have crew.
    A perfect day ?
    Norma my SIL after a small detour arrived on the button and we headed out to Eureka.
    We lifted the anchor at 11.00, having first to take the boat hook to a shrimp 🦐 pot wrapped around the chain.
    Who the feck lays pots in an anchorage, someone in Baltimore does!!
    We only had a gentle breeze until we got to the Kedges and I was wondering where the wind had gone.
    I felt a draught on my face and seconds afterwards, we heeled over and took off.
    We had a lovely reach to the Stags when the wind picked up even more and we changed to a more northerly course towards Glandore.
    Norma was getting a taste every type of sailing in the four hours it took to get to Glandore.
    For probably the first time ever when sailing I was on time.
    It’s hard to get good crew especially ones who feed you and leave the galley better than they found it so I had to hold up my end of the bargain and had to have Norma ashore at the time stated.
    We had a drink ashore while we waited for Anthony to arrive and collect Norma.
    I wandered over to Glandore Church where the entrance is a hole carved in a rock. For the first time in over 30 yrs of visiting Glandore, it was open and I went in to the lovely simple interior and had a look at the wall hangings that gave the history of the locality.
    Later lAs I sat in the cockpit eating the dinner Norma left for me a yacht flying the Breton flag sailed in and showed how to dig in an anchor without needing an engine.
    Had to make another trip ashore to meet another relative. A great chat over two pints and then back to Eureka on a flat calm night.
    The icing on the cake to a perfect day 😎
    Read more