Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    The Big Easy

    March 18, 2017 in Cambodia ⋅ 🌙 28 °C

    These past 24 hours have been very different to my previous 2 weeks.

    The group left me yesterday at 9am and it was a sad goodbye, having made some great friends, mainly Amanda and Vanessa, who never failed to put a smile on my face.

    Having not felt lonely due to constantly being around people, this was the first test to see how I would do on my own. I checked out the hotel at 12pm and made my way to the hostel I was booked in for called the Big Easy. Straight away I met two of my roomies, Tess and Imogen, who were both from England, but they had plans for that day so it left me fending for myself.

    I sat in the bar alone, not many people there as usually check in is later for most. As I sat there it dawned on me that I really was on my own which made me quite emotional to say the least. However, I decided I was the only one who could change that and so being proactive I headed to the beach to soak up some sun. There met Helena who was from Sweden and happened to be staying in the Big Easy as well. She was great company and we grabbed dinner together to line our stomachs for the bar crawl later that evening.

    By this time, our dorm was nearly full with two guys having checked in, Jamie who is from NZ and Michael who is from Australia. Both were very bubbly people which was refreshing and settled my nerves about not meeting people. Pre drinks were held in the bar of the hostel then moved on to various other bars, finishing at JJs. I would love to be able to say more about what we did that night however my memory is a little foggy, I just know I had the best sleep I've had in the two weeks I've been in Cambodia.

    Today was another chilled day at the beach with a more peaceful evening at the hostel, preparing myself for the islands tomorrow. The day was topped off with a catch up from Mum, Dad and Ross which was lovely to see their faces and hear their voices.
    Read more