Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    War Museum, Ho Chi Minh

    April 6, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    After a busy few days I decided today was going to be slower paced. Having a relaxing morning catching up with friends and sorting out my next steps.

    Due to it being sunny outside, I made use of the rooftop garden above my hostel and sat up there reading my book and soaking up some sun. However, the heat began to get too much and I decided I would take myself to the War Museum.

    Having been so interested in the war I thoroughly enjoyed this museum, despite the atrocities of the war. I was speechless at some of the activities that went on and thought to myself how man kind could think it's alright to do such terrible things to another human being. The affects of the agent orange and chemicals used by the Americans on the Vietnamese are still causing defects over 40 years later and its likely these defects will continue to be passed down. After finishing at the museum it's safe to say I felt quite emotional and sad having gained such an insight to what the people of Vietnam went through, especially having done nothing to the Americans.

    I got back to the hostel just in time to watch the sunset on the rooftop garden which was beautiful. Then, just as I was heading out for food I met a Canadian girl called Lauren, she invited me out for a beer so said why not. We ended up meeting others and all went out and had a very fun evening. I even met people who I had been with in Cambodia which was a crazy sight! Having had low expectations for a quiet night it became quite the opposite.
    Read more