Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Nha Trang

    April 15, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    This was just a 24 hour stop on the way to Hoi An and having heard many mixed reviews about the place we weren't quite sure what to expect. We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by the lovely people who worked in the hostel. They were so kind and always happy to help.

    Later on a group of us headed out and enjoyed a delicious Vietnamese meal and a local restaurant. We knew it was very local as we were the only westerners eating there, even the menu was all in Vietnamese. Luckily a kind man who was eating next to us was able to translate it into English for us. However, we almost had a confusion with the order and nearly ended up eating dog which I was horrified about. Needless to say it was a close call. We then strolled through the night market which was bustling with people, locals selling all kinds of clothes, shoes and food.

    Having been tired from the travelling, we decided to head back to the hostel and get some rest. Having wanted a good sleep, I was woken up in the middle of the night and had my first proper ill experience of SE Asia. I was so thankful to Leena and Fiona who looked after me and made sure I was on the road to recovery in the morning when I felt bed bound.

    After being dosed up on ginger tea and trying to eat something, I decided to join the girls down by the beach to get some fresh air before our night bus to Hoi An that evening.

    Feeling more like myself, we got back to the hostel and before we knew it were on the night bus on the way to Hoi An. Having heard so many good things about Hoi An I was very excited and hoping I would be feeling 100% in time to go exploring the town when we got there. Despite being apprehensive about the night bus, I was pleasantly surprised when I had a good nights sleep, especially after my disturbed one the previous night.
    Read more