Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Ha Long Bay

    April 30, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    So wowee, where do I start... the 3 days at Ha Long Bay couldn't have been more of a treat and possibly being the best place to celebrate my birthday.

    After the hefty journey to get to the castaway island, I already knew we were in for a fun few days. We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide, Dan, who kept us all entertained throughout the duration of the trip. The island we were on really felt like a castaway with no Internet and contact with the outside world.

    That afternoon the activities included playing volleyball on the beach, tubing around Ha Long Bay as well as kayaking. Ha Long Bay itself is stunning and I can see why it's such an attraction. Luckily we had good weather for the duration of the 3 days meaning it looked it's best.

    The boat cruise was the day of my birthday and I couldn't have asked to spend it in a more beautiful location. Having Vietnam been so incredible up until that point I never think what I do can be topped, however I've constantly been proved wrong.

    The boat stopped at various points, the first time we all got in kayaked and went through the caves of Ha Long Bay, ending up in areas that had been used to film movies such as Avatar. The next stop was for lunch as well as swimming to a small beach off one of the island rocks.

    We got back, everyone's spirits very high, excited for the evening ahead. The evening was filled with lots of celebrations for my birthday and I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to be with.

    Waking up on the last day was a sad realisation that my time at Castaways and more importantly Vietnam was nearly over. Safe to say I've definitely fallen in love with this country and I've had some unbeatable experiences but also met some special people who I hope to remain in contact with.

    Getting back to the hostel it was time to say goodbye to everyone we had met on Castways as well as Fiona. This was a very sad depart after travelling together for 3 weeks and she is certainly someone who I will be in contact with for the rest of my life and was a big part of everything I did in Vietnam.

    However, despite being sad to depart I was ready to see what Laos has to offer and what treats would await me there.
    Read more