Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Exploring Pai

    May 20, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    Today was a heavy sight seeing day visiting all the main spots around Pai. The first place we visited was the Viewpoint which allowed us to see all of Pai and beyond, being able to see for miles. Since it was slightly cloudy however, we couldn't see quite as far as there was potential to see but oh well.

    Our next stop was Lod Cave. We spent an hour being guided around the cave by a local Thai lady only by lantern light which made the experience eery and mysterious. Travelling around the cave there were a lot of stairs and by the time I finished I knew the next morning my legs would feel it. To finish in the cave we got a bamboo raft all through the cave. I even got pooed on by a bat, what a treat. Can't say I was too impressed but hoping bat poo brings me luck like bird poo does when it lands on you. Finishing at the cave we sat down for lunch which was fried rice and fresh fruit, which was very much needed after the energy exhausted from walking through the cave.

    Next up was the hot spring and what a shock it was a spring with hot water. Being so hot outside I think I would have preferred it to be a few degrees cooler but it was still very enjoyable and nice to be in water after sweating out most of the fluid inside of me. After drying off we made our way to the waterfall, which was enjoyable but nothing on the one we had seen in Luang Prabang, that one will be almost impossible to beat. Nevertheless it had a lovely view at the top and was nice to see.

    Finally, the last stop was the Pai Canyon. The views were absolutely stunning, as long as you didn't look at the sheer drop down. Not being quite as grand as the Grand Canyon, it was still very impressive and was a beautiful backdrop for when the sun set.

    To finish the day, we indulged in a yummy meal at night market which I believe was thoroughly deserved after our full on day. Getting myself accustomed to the local cuisine I decided to try coconut pancakes which were an acquired taste but all the same I thoroughly enjoyed them. After spending another hour strolling the night market we decided to call it a day and get some sleep after a very good day.
    Read more