Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Ramadan Market

    June 15, 2017 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    After leaving Krabi and saying my last goodbyes to Thailand and their toasties it was time to move on to the next destination, Singapore.

    With a smooth flight and arrival to Singapore, I enjoyed being in the lovely airport, throwing me back to March and the beginning of my travels when this was my stop over on the way to Cambodia.

    It was an easy ride to the hostel and soon I was checked in, looking into what there was to do since I had so little time, hence needed a detailed plan of action. The woman at the hostel was very kind, being helpful in organising myself and giving me the 'must-do's' when in Singapore. Wasting no time, I got changed and headed straight out to the Ramadan market which was used by tourists as well as locals.

    Using the MRT (Singapores version of the tube) to get there as it was the quickest and cheapest way. It was so clean that I wouldn't complain if I had to eat my dinner off the floor. But then I'm pretty sure Singapore prides itself on being so clean.

    Eventually I found my way to the market and it was huge, swamping the streets around the main road. There were so many stalls selling everything from clothes to rugs to food and drink. Over whelmed by such choice, I did find a little food stall that prided itself in giving you potatoes covered in raclette cheese. I felt as though I had found myself a gem and I instantly knew what I was having for dinner. The food was delicious and you could even watch the cheese being melted in front of you, how dreamy?

    Carrying on through the market, I found another stall selling s'mores and thought it would be a nice thing to treat myself with something sweet and it definitely worked a charm.

    After about an hour and a half of exploring I felt I had seen quite a lot and thought it would be best to head back and get some sleep for the next day ahead as there was lots planned.

    Exhausted with a satisfied belly I headed back and straight to bed.
    Read more