Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Cycle trip @ an encounter with Superman

    July 3, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Today we cycled to Port Judith (don't know how many miles but it took 40minutes. I suffered. Pete and Annette had gone on an earlier ferry. I had a puncture and Pete was the only one with equipment or know how. I cycled the whole way with a flat tyre. It felt like I was pulling a trailer. I was miles behind everyone and felt really miserable. Several lovely people spoke to me. 2 guys cycled with me for a while commiserating and supporting. I recovered somewhat on the ferry trip which was breezy and lovely. Pete met us at the other side, Block Island and we went to the bike shop where a new inner tube was fitted and off we went to join the others at "the poor people's pub"
    We had a lovely lunch and then set off again to have a cycle around the island. This was a bit of a mistake as it was by now 33 degrees with no shade. For me a really fierce heat.
    Sue and Gill turned back to the town for a walk about and I wished I had joined them. We made it to the north end and Pete & Annette walked to the lighthouse but Robert and I were worried about the big hill we had to get up on the return journey so we set off back. The fierce sun was burning the back of neck so I put on my sun hat, then my cycle helmet on top. Not pretty but effective.
    On the way back we reached a beach with changing rooms so we both had a welcome swim and met up with the others for the ferry home.
    Of course after the return ferry we still had a long cycle home. Gill had a mishap and her chain came off. Superman immediately appeared and fixed it for her. He is our hero of the day. He appeared from nowhere and disappeared just as fast. He was also tall and exceedingly handsome
    Read more