Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Lake Windermere

    June 19, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    A busy day with planes, trains, automobiles...and boats! I started the journey with Ginny across to Lake Windermere from the North West coastline where I had spent a rainy, but undisturbed, night.
    I decided to base myself for the day at National Trust's Fell Foot site towards the south eastern corner of the Lake. From here I was able to take the ferry boat across to Lakeside on the opposite side of Windermere, where I then stepped aboard a railway carriage pulled by the beautiful steam engine 'Princess' on its journey to Haverthwaite. After a quick look around I reboarded Princess for the return journey to Lakeside and quickly switched transport to the MV Teal for a leisurely cruise across the lake to the town of Bowness-on- Windermere.
    After the peace and quiet of most of my time around the rural areas of the Lake District it was a change to step into a bustling tourist town, but I entered into the spirit and enjoyed a fish and chip lunch at one of the busy street cafés.
    To complete my day of a variety of transport forms, I was surprised to hear, then see, a low flying military jet flying over the Lake.. Very Top Gun and not what I had expected to see at all!
    By the time I was back on the MV Teal for my return journey my eyes were drooping and I was falling asleep...only to be rudely awakened when the whistle blew to signal we were about to port. One final journey on the passenger ferry boat and I was back to Ginny for a well earned rest and a bit of shut-eye 🙂
    Read more